Kennecott the First to Receive the Copper Mark for Responsible Production

Share Resource:

Share Resource:

Kennecott Utah Copper LLC, Rio Tinto’s site in Utah, United States, has become the first producer to be awarded the Copper Mark.

To achieve the Copper Mark, Kennecott’s operations were independently assessed across more than 30 criteria covering the environment, community, business and human rights, labor and working conditions, and governance categories.

Demonstrating a commitment to responsible production and transparency, Kennecott will meet LME’s responsible sourcing requirements and contribute to the United Nations Sustainable Development Goal 12.

The Copper Mark is the first and only program for responsible production in the copper industry. Originally developed by the International Copper Association with input from a broad range of stakeholders including customers, NGOs and producers, the Copper Mark is now an independent entity with a multi-stakeholder council.

For the complete announcement of Kennecott’s award of the Copper Mark, click here.

For more information about the Copper Mark’s application and assurance process, click here.

About Kennecott

Rio Tinto Kennecott is a fully integrated mining operation just outside Salt Lake City, Utah, U.S., and a fully owned unit of Rio Tinto. For more than 110 years, Kennecott has been mining and processing minerals from the rich ore body of the Bingham Canyon Mine. In addition to Bingham Canyon, the subsidiary possesses other facilities at South Jordan in the Salt Lake Valley including a refinery, a concentrator and a smelter.

About Copper Mark

The Copper Mark is an assurance framework available for the copper industry to demonstrate its responsible production practices and its contribution to the United Nations SDGs. The Copper Mark offers a comprehensive system that addresses 32 environmental, social and governance issues related to the responsible production of copper, using the Responsible Minerals Initiative’s (RMI) Risk Readiness Assessment. Developed and funded by the International Copper Association (ICA), the Copper Mark is incorporated as an independent entity headquartered in the United Kingdom. For additional information visit

About the International Copper Association

The International Copper Association’s brings together the global copper industry to develop and defend markets for copper and make a positive contribution to the UN’s Sustainable Development Goals. Headquartered in Washington, D.C., ICA has offices in three primary regions: Asia, Europe and North America. ICA and its Copper Alliance® partners are active in more than 60 countries worldwide. For additional information, please visit

25 August 2020

Regional Hub:

Policy Focus:

Mining has changed. Learn more about global mining innovations from ICA's members.